#MusicReview: Hola Hola – Sugarboy

Having just dropped only one review some years back which turned out to be a success and in my attempt to revive this blog I’ve decided to bring back the Music Review section where I get to review one song(Nigerian or foreign) every week. The #MusicReview would come to you every Monday from now on so keep a date. Please note that I’m also going to bring back #ShortStory section so you are in for a fun ride. Do read, enjoy and drop your thoughts!
Sugarboy-–-Hola-Hola-art

#MusicReview: HOLA HOLA – SUGARBOY

 

Testing mic… *coughs*.. 3… 2… 1….

 

Okay! Hello everyone, my name is Chistar and you are tuned in to another episode of #MusicReview from the perspective of a very good music critic, or so I’ll like to think of myself *rolls eyes*.

 

In today’s episode I’m going to be reviewing a song that has been on repeat on my neighbours extra loud sound system and frankly I couldn’t have had it any other way.

 

I first came across the song while I was looking for something else to watch on TV after I had just finished a very interesting movie. I was faced with one of those moments where you scan through all the hundreds of stations DSTV has to offer but nothing seems appealing enough… Well, not until I caught the sight of a familiar face which I recognised instantly from Dj Shabsy’s Raba. Yea, you guessed it, it was the face of Sugarboy.

 

We can all agree that this ‘Akwa-Ibom G’ first got our attention with his verse on Raba which in my opinion he killed (shout out to Kiss Daniels) and although the follow up, Molue, was not as successful, he also did a fair job which made a lot of curious new ‘fans’ anticipate and hope his first official single would be dope and having finally listened to it, I can categorically tell you he sure nailed it!

 

On first listen, I was forced to go and download it because I did not get to hear the song from the beginning and when I eventually got my personal copy of both the video and audio I felt I had gotten good value for my lost data.

 

The master of instrumentals, Suka Sounds, did the beats and Beatburx produced the song so I’m not surprised at the wonderful end product, however I have just one reservation.

 

I am a sucker for good music with good and unique lyrical content and  Sugarboy did not exactly deliver in that aspect as the lyrics was talking about the same thing we seem to hear everyday on our radio and television sets- girls and money. In his words, “Pack money in a Ghana must go” and “Make the girl them dance e o No!” Whatever happened to songs that motivates us youths in the right path or teach us important things?

 

Well, moving forward. Hola Hola is an Afro-pop song which on first listen you are bound to like it as the mixing and mastering was perfect and let us not forget Sugarboy’s smooth vocals which would make you want to stand up and dance but ironically enough would also make you want to relax and sip on something good with a smile planted on your face. The mere fact that it can serve both purposes make me dare tag it the ‘Jam of life!’

 

The video is perfect! No doubt about that as it turned out to be very colourful and has a lot of pretty girls on pant and bra or what do they call it this days? Bikini? *winks*. It was shot by Aje Filmworks and features cameo appearance from Kiss Daniels and Dj Shabsy.

 

All in all, I think if Sugarboy has proven one thing it’s definitely that he is not in the music scene to joke with anybody, so y’all should watch out for this G-worldwide act.

 

Do give Hola Hola a listen by downloading it HERE! and catch a glimpse of the visuals on Youtube.

 

For those of us who need the lyrics so that they can sing along, here it is!

[Intro]

See me now

Step inna the place

It’s G-Worldwide

Sugarboy yeah!

[Ride]

Moni fun wan Rendezvous

Make them Jasi o

Make them raise the roof

Make them Jasi o

Make them know the Koko

I no mind them Razz e o

Make the girl them dance e o No!

[Hook]

Hola Hola! We popping Bottle

Hola Hola

We making Noise

Hola Hola! Aye me bubble

Hola Hola

Selecta

Ememaobong moni no Bobo mi o Ah!

Moni you go use me pa gan

Kikelomo moni no Bobo mi o Ah

I say No use me pa gan

[Verse 1]

Pack money in a Ghana must go

Oluwa Say make ghetto boy blow (all hear me)

Catch them, Rastaman bad for them

Tell them say run from them

Sugarboy, give them tha run !

[Refrain]

And we live for the party ,For nobody

We live for the party ,Oh Lord have mercy

We live for the party no we no send nobody

We live for the party oh Lord have mercy!

[Hook]

Hola Hola! We popping Bottle

Hola Hola

We making Noise

Hola Hola! Aye me bubble

Hola Hola

Selecta

Ememaobong moni no Bobo mi o Ah!

Moni you go use me pa gan

Kikelomo moni no Bobo mi o Ah

I say No use me pa gan

[Verse 2]

You see tonight ,Me cyan bother bout nothing

This life ,I cannot kill myself for nothing

Lady tonight ,Are you sure you can take this love

Dj jam me song ,All my people sing along

[Refrain]

And we live for the party ,For nobody

We live for the party ,Oh Lord have mercy

We live for the party no we no send nobody

We live for the party oh Lord have mercy!

[Hook]

Hola Hola! We popping Bottle

Hola Hola

We making Noise

Hola Hola! Aye me bubble

Hola Hola

Selecta

Ememaobong moni no Bobo mi o Ah!

Moni you go use me pa gan

Kikelomo moni no Bobo mi o Ah

I say No use me pa gan

[Outro]

(Rastaman Bad for them)

Sugarboy ye

Its G-Worldwide

Emperor Geezy

You see now we worldwide

HOLA HOLA ! Hola hola!!

Eyen Kwor Ikwor!!

 

And that’s all I have for this episode. Till the next review, I remain your humble host, Chistar.

 

If you think the review is flawed, do use the comment button and if you think it’s spot on still use the button 😊 . I’ll love to know what you think!

Leave a Comment

