#MusicReview: Like This – Wizkid x Dj Henry

Wizkid-wine-like-this-360Baze.com_-500x352Wizkid has over the years proved to be a consistent hit maker. Think of when his infamous “It’s your boy Wizzy!” On ‘Holla Your Boy’ was fire on all our Ipods and you’ll understand he’s been around for a while. ‘Gidi Girl’, ‘Scatter The Floor’, ‘Pakumuro’, ‘Jaiye Jaiye’ are timeless music and all credit goes to the Baba Nla himself.

 

Wizkid is at that point in his career where everybody, well almost everybody has agreed the ‘kid’ is good.

 

With his latest rendition on ‘Like This’ in collaboration with Ghanian afro house Disk Jockey/producer- Dj Henry who contributes a beat that moves in a half-strut of hollow synths cries, clicking drums, and enveloping bass. it’s safe to say the hit maker has done it again.

 

The lyrics address the amount of hard work he has put in his art which has amounted to his current success. “I’ve seen a lot of thing don come my way/Am thankful for today, am thankful for today/I’ve seen worst days, a lot of things I’ve seen/I grind, I don’t sleep, nah nah nah nah,” Wizkid passionately sings

 

The gospel he preaches on this funky jam which you would subconsciously find yourself dancing to after listening to it for a few seconds is that hard work pays. “I work a lot when I started this (yea)/Right now, am on a holiday (yeah)/Feeling fly away (yea),” he later goes on to add.

 

Wizkid has perfected his art and set a lot of records with his featured Billboard/Itunes chart No. 1 track- ‘One Dance’ fresh in mind.

 

The video is yet to be released and there’s no new on it but if at all its released I’ll expect it to be a chilled video where he just navigates through a hard day work before retiring to the arms of a well endowed girl. Lol! Just saying.

 

He sure does this Afro beat sound effortlessly and is arguably the forerunner of the genre. Do give the song a listen by clicking HERE!

Dj Henry x Wizkid – ‘Like This’ lyrics

download

[Intro]

International Flicks

Star Boy dey here so

Yea yea yea

I work a lot when I started this

Yea, yea, yea yea yea

Yea yea yea

[Verse 1]

Am up am awake

I’ve seen a lot of thing don come my way

Am thankful for today, am thankful for today

I’ve seen worst days, a lot of things I’ve seen

I grind, I don’t sleep, nah nah nah nah

Don’t sleep on that thing

Come whine, don’t sleep, nah nah nah nah

[Chorus]

I work a lot when I started this (yea)

Right now, am on a holiday (yeah)

Feeling fly away (yea)

Baby girl come cool me down

Don’t stop; am on a holiday (yea)

I wanna feel; I wanna go away (yeah)

Feeling fly away (yea)

Oh my God! Come cool me down

[Hook]

Whine like this (so), gimme that thing (so)

Whine like this (so), gimme that thing (so)

Gimme that thing girl whine like this

Girl whine with star boy gimme that thing (so)

Whine like this (so), gimme that thing (so)

Whine like this (so), gimme that thing (so)

Gimme that thing girl whine like this

Girl whine with star boy gimme that thing (so)

[Bridge]

Ooh oh

Ooh oooh

You be my pleaser

Come be my lover no teaser

Ay, aye yea

Aye yea yea

Come be my teaser

Come be my lover no teaser

Aye yea

[Chorus]

I work a lot when I started this (yea)

Right now, am on a holiday (yeah)

Feeling fly away (yea)

Baby girl come cool me down

Don’t stop; am on a holiday (yea)

I wanna feel; I wanna go away (yeah)

Feeling fly away (yea)

Oh my God! Come cool me down

[Hook]

Whine like this (so), gimme that thing (so)

Whine like this (so), gimme that thing (so)

Gimme that thing girl whine like this

Girl whine with star boy gimme that thing (so)

Whine like this (so), gimme that thing (so)

Whine like this (so), gimme that thing (so)

Gimme that thing girl whine like this

Girl whine with star boy gimme that thing (so)

Leave a Comment

